top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVivien Yap

Muscle Memory


When a human flexes his arm inwards,


one muscle hardens,

one muscle yields.


The meeting has ended, I have not said a word.

“Looking forward to working with you boys.”

Smile / Shake / Firm

“Byebye!”

Stoop / Wave / Pet


When a human reaches for his phone,

one muscle pulls, another follows.

Fingers extend outwards from the forearm.


I have his attention, I have a chance.

I receive a private message.

A ransom. A photo of me.

“Put this on for me when we meet?”

Thursday, a work meeting.


When a human extends his arms outwards,

one muscle hardens,

one muscle yields.

Another pulls,

for one to follow.

From shoulders to fingers

to my waist.

Grip / Graze / Squeeze.


When he reaches out,

I think of science,

I think of you.

Intimacy / Power / Relief


For when a human flexes his arm,

he hardens,

I yield.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Q&A

bottom of page