top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVivien Yap

a professional stranger

I think it’s time I picked up a new language because I have run out of words to tell you how I feel. Over the phone, I stumble over the same verbs and nouns like a lost tourist asking for directions in a foreign place. I am lost, yes. Do I know where I am? Yes. Describe where I am now? I don’t know, everything looks like how I remember it to be. I am lost in a familiar place? Sure. I am told that I cannot ask for a different place, or a different life and I laugh. Of course I know that, I’m not an idiot. Haha, haha. I want to break into hysterical laughter over the phone, I want to thank you for all the help and that I am now good as new. Instead, you apologise for everything I’ve gone through and like clockwork, I thank you. You tell me to drop by your clinic in two weeks. I agree. We hang up and I wish I never have to speak to you again.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page